How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Arizona Online
Interested in getting a medical marijuana card in Arizona? We’re here to help!
After doing meticulous research, we’ve simplified the entire process. And created this handy guide to assist you along every step of the way.
Read on to find out the ins and out of getting your AZ medical card.
Arizona Medical Marijuana Program
In 2010 Proposition 203 was passed, approving the use of medical marijuana. From this legislature, the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act was created.
This act decriminalized the consumption and cultivation of medical cannabis for qualifying patients. To date, there are more than 200,000 MMJ patients in the state of Arizona.
The Medical Marijuana Program is currently run by the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS). A decade after that act was approved, the ADHS updated the process of becoming a MMJ patient.
The department made all applications and registry cards available online. This made it faster and easier to obtain a medical card in Arizona. At this time, all registry applications must be submitted online via the ADHS website.
Recreational cannabis sales finally became legal in 2020 when Arizona voters approved Prop 207. In 2021, recreational marijuana users were able to purchase cannabis.
Currently, recreational consumers are subject to smaller possession and grow limits than patients.
What can you buy as an MMJ patient in AZ?
Arizona patients with a valid MMJ card can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis or cannabis products in a 14 day period.
This possession limit may be made up of the following products:
- concentrates / extracts
Arizona Medical Card Requirements
To be eligible for a MMJ card you must be a legal resident of Arizona and over the age of 18.
Patients under 18 will need to have a designated caregiver. Caregivers must be over 21 and legal residents of Arizona.
In sum, to qualify as a medical marijuana patient you must:
- Be a legal Arizona resident
- Be over 18 years old
- Have a valid government issued ID
- Have a signed and completed Medical Marijuana Physician Certificate
- Have a qualifying health condition
- Designate a caregiver (if applicable)
- Submit a 2 in x 2 in passport style photograph taken within the last 60 days
- Complete the Medical Marijuana Patient Attestation form
- Provide SNAP documentation (if requesting a reduced application fee)
- Pay the application fee
Acceptable Forms of ID
- Valid Arizona identification card issued on or before October 1, 1996
- Valid Arizona driver’s license issued on or before October 1, 1996
- Valid Arizona registry identification card
- Valid U.S. passport
- Valid Arizona identification card or driver’s license issued before October 1, 1996 PLUS one of the following:
- U.S. Birth certificate
- U.S. Certificate of Citizenship
- U.S. Certificate of Naturalization
For a complete application checklist, visit the Arizona Department of Health Services website.
Arizona medical marijuana qualifying conditions List
Patients must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition, as determined by the state, to be eligible for a MMJ card.
Here’s a list of the current qualifying conditions in Arizona:
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) / Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Cachexia or Wasting Disease
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- A chronic or debilitating medical condition that causes:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic and severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including those associated with epilepsy
- Persistent or severe muscle spasms, including those associated with multiple sclerosis
If you have a medical condition that’s not included on the list, you may still be able to get a MMJ card. You’ll need to submit a petition to the Arizona Department of Public Health Services.
Petitions must be submitted via mail to:
P.O. Box 19000
Note: Petition cycles are typically held in January and July of each year. The window for submitting a petition to add a debilitating condition to the list has already passed for 2022 (on July 25 to 29, 2022).
Arizona Medical Marijuana Product Types
Within the 2.5 ounce possession limit per every 14 days, patients are allowed a variety of cannabis products.
Qualifying patients are allowed the following types of products:
- dried flower
- concentrates and oils (wax, vape cartridges, hash)
- edibles (marijuana-infused beverages, cookies, candies, etc.)
- topicals (lotions, sprays, rubs, bath bombs)
- cannabis plants (if you requested authorization to grow on your application)
Recreational marijuana users can purchase the same types of products. However, they can only possess 1 ounce of cannabis in a two week period. Of that 1 ounce limit, they’re allowed up to 5 grams of cannabis concentrate (extracts, vape carts).
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona
Ready to get your Arizona medical marijuana card?
You’ll need to see a board certified physician first. They must be licensed to practice in the state of Arizona.
A licensed physician will determine if you’re eligible for medical cannabis. If you meet the requirements, your doctor will give you a MMJ recommendation.
This visit can occur offline or online. But online is much cheaper!
The most well established online services have money back guarantees. So if you’re not approved, it will cost you nothing.
To obtain your medical cannabis card, follow these three simple steps:
1. Consult With An Arizona Certified Healthcare Provider
You must schedule a visit with a licensed physician via telehealth or in person.
Your medical marijuana doctor can be a MD, DO, ND, MD(H) OR DO(H). They will determine if you qualify for medical cannabis.
2. Receive Your Medical Cannabis Certification
If your doctor recommends you for medical cannabis, you’ll receive a physician certificate. Patients will need this document to apply for an AZ MMJ card.
3. Obtain AZ State Approval
After receiving your MMJ certificate, you must submit a patient application to get your registry card.
The application must be submitted online at the ADHS website.
To complete the app, you’ll need a valid Arizona ID, a signed physician certificate, a medical marijuana patient attestation form, and a passport style photo.
Upon submission, you’ll need to pay the state application fee: $150 for new patients, $350 for minors, $200 for caregivers.
The medical cannabis card lasts for 2 years. Unlike most states which have cards that are only valid for 1 year.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona Online
Instead of seeing a physician in person, you can easily consult with one online. Doing so will replace step 1 of the process above.
By using telemedicine services, you’ll have access to a registered medical marijuana doctor. Online, you can get an Arizona MMJ recommendation in minutes. And it’s valid for 1 year.
- Seamlessly connect with a physician via Veriheal telehealth
- One simple fee
- Approved for MMJ or your money back!
We highly recommend checking out Veriheal! They offer a 100% money back guarantee. In the case you are not approved, you won’t owe a thing.
If you are approved, Veriheal charges $199 for a physician certificate.
Note, this fee is separate from the registry application fee charged by the Arizona Department of Health Services.
Arizona Caregiver MMJ Card Requirements
Patients who are unable to purchase medical marijuana on their own may appoint a caregiver to do so on their behalf.
The caregiver must be included on the patient’s application. They will also need to complete a Designated Caregiver Application on the ADHS website.
To qualify as a caregiver, you must:
- be at least 21 years old
- be a legal resident of Arizona
- have not been convicted of a felony
- agree to assist the patient in the use of medical marijuana
- be a caregiver to no more than 5 patients
How to Get a Caregiver Medical Cannabis Card
To get a Caregiver registry card, follow these easy steps:
1. Patient must designate the caregiver in their registry application
The caregiver must be included in the patient application. Patients will need to provide the following caregiver information: full legal name, gender, date of birth, address and county of residence.
2. Patient must be approved by the ADHS before a caregiver application is submitted
You’ll need the qualifying patients’ application ID number to start the caregiver application process.
3. Gather the required forms and documents
To complete a caregiver application, you must provide these documents:
- copy of a valid government-issued ID
- see the above list of “Approved Forms of ID”
- current 2 in x 2 in photograph taken within the last 60 days
- dated and signed Medical Marijuana Caregiver Attestation form
4. Submit the Designated Caregiver Application
You can only fill out and complete the Caregiver Application online. All required documents should be included.
5. Pay the state fee
At the time of submission you’ll be required to pay the $200 caregiver registration fee.
6. Submit fingerprints to the ADHS
After completing the caregiver application, you’ll need to submit fingerprints to the Arizona Department of Health Services. You must include a Fingerprint Verification Form in your submission. This can only be done via mail.
Arizona Medical Marijuana Card Benefits
Recreational cannabis may be legal in Arizona, but being a medical marijuana patient comes with extra benefits.
Lower Taxes to Pay
Medical marijuana patients save more money than recreational users. With a MMJ card you pay significantly lower taxes. And save up to 15%! Recreational cannabis consumers pay 21.6% state tax on cannabis while patients pay 6.6% state tax (+2-3% municipal tax in some areas).
Prioritized Access to Third Party Tested Products
When it comes to stock control, MMJ card holders have priority. Patients also have access to more dispensaries and a wider range of lab tested cannabis products. Recreational cannabis is not subject to the same third party testing laws in Arizona.
You Can Consume Cannabis at 18
With a MMJ card, you can legally use cannabis at 18. Qualifying patients do not need to wait until they’re 21 to consume marijuana.
Larger Possession Limits
Medical marijuana patients can possess over twice as much cannabis as recreational users. For example, 2.5 ounces of cannabis products every 2 weeks vs 1 ounce for recreational use.
Increased Grow Limits
Designated medical marijuana patients can grow twice as many plants as recreational users.
No THC Limits on Edibles
Recreational marijuana edibles cannot contain more than 10 mg of THC per serving and 100 mg per package. Adult MMJ patients do not have these edible restrictions.
How Many Marijuana Plants Can You Grow in Arizona?
Medical Marijuana Program
Patients can grow their own cannabis plants if they request to cultivate in their application. If approved, the ADHS will designate you as a MMJ grower.
Qualifying patients can grow up to 12 plants if they live at least 25 miles away from medical dispensaries. Plants must be cultivated in an enclosed space.
Adult Use of Marijuana Program
Recreational users may grow up to 6 plants for personal use only.
Cultivating must be done in a locked enclosed area at your private residence. If two or more individuals over 21 live at the same residence, they’re allowed to grow up to 12 plants.
Does Arizona Accept Out Of State Medical Cards?
Not exactly. Arizona does not fully accept out of state MMJ cards. The state has a limited reciprocity program and recognizes “visiting qualifying patients.”
To be considered a visiting qualifying patient you need to meet the following requirements:
- be a non-resident of Arizona
- have not resided in Arizona for more than 30 days
- have a valid MMJ card
- qualified for a MMJ card with a health condition on Arizona’s approved list of debilitating conditions
Curious about other states’ medical marijuana reciprocity programs? Check out our article detailing which places accept out of state cards.
Wrapping Up Medical Card In AZ
As discussed, getting an Arizona medical marijuana card is pretty simple!
Arizona residents over 18 can easily obtain a MMJ card. They just need to meet all the requirements. With a few more forms and steps, patients under 18 can also be eligible for a MMJ card.
- Seamlessly connect with a physician via Veriheal telehealth
- One simple fee
- Approved for MMJ or your money back!
While recreational cannabis is legal in Arizona, having a MMJ card comes with some great benefits.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
How Long Does it Take to Get an Arizona Medical Cannabis Card?
After submitting your application to the Arizona Department of Health Services, you should receive your MMJ registry card in 10 business days.
How Long is a MMJ Card Valid for in Arizona?
Medical cards are valid for 2 years after the date of issue. Renewals must be submitted at least 30 days before the card is set to expire.
Can Patients Under 18 Get a MMJ Card in Arizona?
Yes. Minors will need their parent or legal guardian to apply on their behalf and be their designated caregiver. The parent or guardian and applicant must apply together in one application.
Minors will also need to have two physician recommendations from two different doctors. The Qualifying Patients Under the Age of 18 Application has a few additional requirements:
- Medical Marijuana Physician Certification form
- Medical Marijuana Reviewing Physician Certification for Patients Under 18 form (completed by a secondary physician)
- Caregiver information: name, DOB, SSN, address
- A current 2 in x 2 in photograph of the caregiver (taken within the last 60 days)
- Copy of the caregiver’s government issued ID
- A completed Fingerprint Verification Form
Related Read: Under 18 Medical Card
Where Can I Consume Cannabis in Arizona?
Medical and recreational cannabis can only be smoked on private property such as your home or backyard.
Smoking marijuana is not legal in public places (i.e. airports, public transportation, restaurants, bars, schools) or open spaces (i.e. parks, sidewalks).
However, medical patients are allowed to consume edibles or infused products in public areas.
Can I Use Cannabis When Driving?
No. Neither patients nor recreational users can operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana. Anyone caught with cannabis in their system can get a DUI, even with a medical card.
Am I Required to Submit Medical Records to Get a Medical Marijuana Card?
Nope. Submitting medical records is not a requirement. However, providing such documents to your physician may shorten the process when requesting a AZ MMJ certification.
How Much Does it Cost to Get a MMJ Card?
The total cost mostly depends on how much you pay for the medical marijuana doctor visit and recommendation.
The fee for a registry identification is $150. If you are a SNAP recipient you qualify for a reduced fee card, lowering the fee to $75.
This cost is in addition to the price of the doctor-issued MMJ certificate. For example, if you get a recommendation using Veriheal you’ll pay $349 in total for a registry card.
How do I Apply for a AZ Reduced Fee Card?
SNAP recipients must submit a copy of their eligibility notice or EBT card with their application. With one of these documents, the ADHS will confirm your participation in the SNAP program. Your fee will be cut in half, from $150 to $75.
How do I Renew my AZ Medical Cannabis Card?
Renewing your MMJ card is nearly identical to submitting a new patient application. In your renewal application, you need to submit:
- a new physician certificate
- a new Patient Attestation Form
- a new passport style photograph
- current proof of SNAP eligibility (if applicable)
- a copy of government issued ID, if name has changed
- application fee
What Fees Will I Owe for a Renewal?
The renewal fees are the same as the new application fee. You’ll need to pay $150 for a renewal card or $75 if you qualify for a reduced fee card.
Can I Own a Gun if I Have a AZ MMJ Card?
According to the state of Arizona, you still have the same gun ownership rights if you are a part of the MMJ program. However, owning a gun and being a MMJ patient or possessing marijuana remains federally illegal.