How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Vermont
Recreational sales of marijuana are about to start in Vermont in 2022. Yet, getting your medical marijuana card is still a great, advantageous idea.
Patients get safe access to medical-grade cannabis products. And at better deals than their recreational counterparts.
Keep reading to find out how to get your Vermont medical marijuana card online in 2023.
Vermont Medical Marijuana Program History
In 2004 the Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness passed. As did Senate Bill 76 and House Bill 645.
Together, these removed state-level penalties for the use and possession of marijuana. But it only applied to those with debilitating conditions.
This meant people with a debilitating medical condition could get a medical marijuana card in Vermont, along with the fact they could now legally have and use marijuana.
In 2011, Senate Bill 17 passed. This Bill created a framework for registering medical marijuana dispensaries. The Act laid the foundation for 4 medical cannabis dispensaries to be registered.
In 2013, the first two Vermont dispensaries opened.
In 2015, two bills proposed the legalization of recreational cannabis operations in Vermont. But neither bill passed.
In 2018, the Vermont House approved another Bill related to cannabis use in the state. It allows for the personal possession, use, and cultivation of cannabis. However, commercial sales are still not permitted.
The current state laws stipulate that no more than 5 dispensaries may be operational in Vermont at one time. A sixth dispensary may join when the program grows to have over 7,000 patients.
Medical marijuana patients in Vermont can buy and have up to 2 ounces of marijuana at a time. Or up to 5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
Patients can have no more than the yield of two mature plants at their homes at one time.
Registered cannabis patients can also cultivate their own plants at home. But they must stay under the limit of two mature plants and four immature plants at any given time.
Vermont Medical Card Requirements
To get a medical marijuana card in the green mountain state there are a couple of requirements to meet.
You must be a Vermont resident. You need to be at least 18 years old, or older. And, you need to meet with a licensed, Vermont medical marijuana doctor to get a recommendation.
Minors can also apply to become a patient in the medical marijuana program. They just need the help of a caregiver.
Caregivers can apply on behalf of a registered patient and can help with accessing and using medication.
Caregivers are not reserved just for minor patients. Anyone who might need help with their medication may have a caregiver apply to join the program and assist them.
Registered caregivers must be 21 years of age or older. They can apply to the program at the same time as the patient. Or they can apply after the patient has been registered.
No matter when they apply, caregivers will need to fill out a caregiver application to join the program. The application will require information like full legal name, address, social security number, and more. There are also required documents, like a digital photograph, proof of address, and a valid ID.
Caregivers also need to complete fingerprinting and a criminal history record check.
And there is a $50 registration fee for caregivers. This is in addition to the patient’s registration fees.
Legal residents of Vermont over the age of 18, or with the help of a caregiver, can meet with a physician to get a medical marijuana recommendation.
You must have one of the qualifying medical conditions approved by Vermont to get a recommendation. This is the last requirement to become a medical marijuana patient.
Vermont Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions List
Vermont has a very limited list of qualifying conditions that will qualify a patient for cannabis use.
- Multiple sclerosis
- HIV or AIDS
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
To qualify for medical cannabis due to PTSD the patient must be an active therapy client. A therapist must attest to this and provide their contact information.
Patients diagnosed with additional medical conditions that lead to wasting syndrome, chronic pain, severe nausea, or seizures may also qualify.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card In Vermont
To get a medical card in Vermont you just need to see a physician, get a recommendation, and apply to the state.
You can’t just stop by any doctor’s office, though. You need to see a board-certified physician licensed to practice in VT. You can also meet with other VT-licensed healthcare professionals such as osteopathic physicians, naturopathic physicians, PAs (physician assistants), and nurse practitioners.
They will speak with you to see if you are eligible for medical marijuana. If so, they will write you a recommendation.
You can meet with a doctor in person, or you can meet with them online. A quick video call is the fastest, most affordable option.
And the well-established services have money-back guarantees that make applying risk-free. Either you get approved for medical cannabis and receive a recommendation, or you don’t get charged.
It really is that simple. You just have to follow this 3 step process below:
1. Meet With A Vermont Certified Healthcare Professional
All patients need to meet with a medical marijuana doctor, or licensed healthcare professional, whether it is in person or online. Patients must get a medical marijuana recommendation to be able to complete the state application.
We recommend you check out Leafwell or Veriheal for getting a medical marijuana recommendation online. These are two of the most well-established telehealth services that connect patients to medical marijuana doctors.
Their doctors are experts when it comes to medical cannabis. They know the laws and regulations that are current in your state.
Their expertise allows them to assess patients and answer questions without delay. Online appointments for medical marijuana recommendations usually take around 15 minutes to complete.
It will cost you $199 via Veriheal and it will cost the same if you use Leafwell. Both services offer discounts if you sign up with a friend. Veriheal also offers an expert cannabis coaching session included with the first visit.
| || |
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
Get $10 off with code NATURE10
When you sign up you will need to submit some personal information to create your online account. Your name, email, and phone number will be required.
If you can, it is great to provide your medical records, clinic notes, and any other relevant information. This way your physician can review it prior to your appointment.
This helps them help you even faster when it is time for you to meet. Once your account is active you will be able to schedule an appointment with a physician.
You can meet with them from the comfort of your home. They will discuss your medical history and what you hope to gain from medical marijuana treatment. Ask them any questions you may have.
They will let you know whether they think medical marijuana treatment is right for you by the end of your video call. If you are approved then the physician will provide you with an electronic certification right away.
2. Complete VT CCB Application
After you get a recommendation from a licensed physician you can apply to the state. The Vermont Cannabis Control Board (CCB) accepts the applications from patients and caregivers.
Initial applicants must submit a recent digital photograph. It is important to pay attention to the photo requirements to help your application go along smoothly.
The photograph should be:
- a color photo
- be less than 6 months old
- of you only
- full face and shoulder shot
- no sunglasses or hats
You cannot use a scanned copy of your ID or a photo of a photo. You must take a picture of yourself and send it to CCB.Med@vermont.gov.
The subject line should state “application photo” and the email should include your birthday and first and last name. The medical program staff will send a confirmation email when they receive your photo.
When you fill out your application you will need to identify a designated dispensary that you will use. And you will need to indicate whether or not you intend to cultivate cannabis at your home.
This application also allows you to designate a caregiver (additional $50 fee applies).
There is a $50 patient application fee for applying to the state. The fee is non-refundable and due for initial and all renewal applications. Be sure to include a check or money order made out to the Cannabis control board if you are not paying with a credit card.
The Vermont medical cannabis program processes applications. You should hear back from them within 30 days of submitting your completed application. They will tell you if you are approved or denied.
If approved they will mail your card to you at the address provided in your application.
3. Receive Your VT Medical Card
If approved, there is nothing left for you to do but await the arrival of your new cannabis card. It can take up to a month before your card arrives in the mail.
The card is valid for 1 year. Then, you will need to renew it.
If you use a telehealth service like Leafwell or Veriheal they will send you a reminder when it is nearing your renewal time. Start the process as soon as possible to avoid a lapse in your patient status.
VT Medical Marijuana Purchase and Possession Limits
Vermont patients can buy cannabis from one dispensary. They must designate which dispensary they will shop from when they fill out their state application.
Patients can purchase up to 2 ounces of cannabis. They can order their cannabis products online. And some dispensaries may be able to deliver right to patient doorsteps.
Patients can also purchase seeds and clones from their dispensary. They may cultivate them at home for personal use. Patients can have up to two mature cannabis plants and 7 immature cannabis plants.
Recreational limits are set at one ounce of cannabis for adults. Recreational marijuana consumers can also cultivate their own marijuana at home. They can have as much as the yield of two plants at home at one time.
Vermont Medical Marijuana Card Benefits
Getting your medical marijuana card in Vermont comes with a number of significant benefits.
An important one is the removal of penalties for the use and possession of marijuana. The medical marijuana program makes it possible for patients to have and use medical marijuana without having to worry about arrests or fines.
However, cannabis cannot be used near a federal space or a place where children may be, even with a valid MMJ card.
Also, take note that employers are not required to accommodate medical marijuana patients. They may adopt policies that prohibit the use of medical cannabis on their premises.
It is illegal under the Vermont Fair Employment Practices Act for any employers to discriminate against a qualified individual with a disability, including those who need medical cannabis.
Patients also benefit from lower taxes. When recreational sales start in the state recreational cannabis taxes will be 20%. But cannabis patients pay nothing in taxes. This allows medical users to save some serious coin throughout the year.
Medical marijuana patients can access cannabis at an earlier age. Recreational cannabis consumption is legal for adults over the age of 21. But medical marijuana patients can be as young as 18 and still use cannabis. And with a supporting legal guardian (and caregiver), minor patients can even legally use cannabis.
Patients also benefit from having access to medical dispensaries. There is a wider selection of products at medical dispensaries compared to what can normally be found in recreational dispensaries.
There are no mandatory testing requirements for medical marijuana products sold within the state. But some of the dispensaries operating in Vermont still conduct thirty-party testing to ensure the safety and efficacy of their products.
Recreational cannabis laws restrict THC concentrations. This is not the case for medical marijuana patients. And patients can possess more cannabis at one time, too. Medical cannabis patients are allowed 2 ounces on their person at one time.
Whereas recreational consumers are only allowed 1 ounce at a time.
Possession of more than 2 ounces of marijuana in Vermont is a felony. Possession of between 1 and 2 ounces of cannabis is a misdemeanor crime except for medical cannabis patients. Marijuana felonies come with a fine of up to $10,000. While a misdemeanor fine can be as high as $2,000.
Vermont does not have medical marijuana reciprocity. But other states do. That means that other states may recognize your valid Vermont medical marijuana card. The states that do practice medical marijuana reciprocity are:
- New Hampshire
- New jersey
- New Mexico
- Rhode Island
- Washington DC
You still need to learn the medical marijuana rules for any states you visit. Just because they may recognize the validity of out-of-state cards does not mean that the rules are the same as in Vermont.
Other states have other regulations that determine what is lawful and what is not. For example, some states only recognize out-of-state cards for patients whose qualifying medical conditions are on their list of qualifying conditions.
Can You Grow Medical Marijuana In Vermont?
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Vermont can grow their own medical marijuana.
Patients are allowed to possess one ounce of usable marijuana along with two mature cannabis plants or four immature plants at one time.
Anyone who exceeds these limits will be fined $100 for a first offense. Fines can grow to $500 for repeat offenses. Anyone caught with 3 mature cannabis plants or 6 immature plants can be fined and receive jail time.
Does VT Accept Out Of State Medical Cards?
No, Vermont does not accept out-of-state medical cards from other states. However, possession of up to one ounce of marijuana is legal for adults for recreational use.
But only dispensaries have permission to sell marijuana in the state legally. Dispensaries will only accept Vermont-issued medical marijuana cards.
Wrapping Up: VT Medical Card
It is worth it to get your medical marijuana card in Vermont, even with recreational sales slated to start soon.
| || |
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
Get $10 off with code NATURE10
Patients don’t get charged tax on medical cannabis. They can have higher possession limits. And they get access to a broader range of more potent products.
Speak with a licensed physician to see if you qualify to be a patient, risk-free with an online platform.
Frequently Asked Questions
How easy is it to get a medical card in Vermont?
It is easy to get a medical marijuana card in Vermont. The requirements are the same across most medical marijuana programs in the country.
You must speak with a licensed medical marijuana doctor to see if you qualify as a patient. If you do then you need to apply to the state program with a physician’s recommendation. You will also need to pay the state application fee.
If you are approved the state will mail you a medical marijuana card in the mail within 30 days.
How much does a medical marijuana card cost in Vermont?
To get a medical marijuana recommendation it will cost $199 through Leafwell or Veriheal. If you use one of these services you will only be charged if approved.
Or you can attend an in person appointment and pay the accompanying fees for the doctor’s office visit. These fees will be due regardless of if you get a recommendation or not.
After getting your MMJ recommendation you will need to pay $50 to submit your state application. There is a separate $50 fee for caregiver applications.