/ /
MMJ

How To Get A Nevada Medical Marijuana Card

Dr Abraham Benavides

MEDICALLY REVIEWED BY

Dr Abraham Benavides

Medical Doctor

Are you a Nevada resident looking to get a medical marijuana card?

Look no further! We made this helpful guide just for you.

Here we’ll let you know what it takes to become a MMJ patient and outline the process step by step. 

Keep reading to learn how to get your medical card in NV. 

NV MMJ

Nevada Medical Marijuana Program

In 1998, Nevada approved medical marijuana via the Nevada Medical Marijuana Act.

However, it didn’t become law until two years later. Voters passed an amendment to the state constitution to permit MMJ on November 7, 2000.

Finally, in June 2001 medical marijuana use became officially legal. That same year possession in amounts of less than 1 oz became decriminalized.

But unfortunately, qualified patients weren’t allowed access to cannabis for over a decade. In 2013, Nevada voters approved the Medical Marijuana Initiative. The first medical cannabis sale occurred two years later. 

Fast forward to 2016, NV voters approved a bill to legalize recreational cannabis for adults over 21. Recreational use was permitted at the beginning of the next year. In July 2017 the first adult use cannabis sale occurred. 

Since its rocky beginnings, NV’s cannabis industry has made some major advancements.

Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak signed the Assembly Bill 533 in 2019. This legislation established the Cannabis Compliance Board (CCB).

The CCB currently controls Nevada’s entire cannabis industry, from operations to licensing.

To get a Nevada MMJ card, patients are required to apply for the state’s registry program. The program is run by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH).

What can you buy as an MMJ patient in Nevada?

With a Nevada medical marijuana card, patients are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of “usable cannabis” and 12 plants within a 2 week period.

Nevada defines “usable cannabis” as:

  • The dried leaves and flowers of a cannabis plant
  • Any mixture or preparation of cannabis flower that are appropriate for the medical use of marijuana

Thus, medical marijuana patients are allowed to buy the following types of cannabis products:

  • Flower
  • Concentrates (such as wax, shatter, oil, extracts, tinctures)
  • Edibles
  • Topicals (such as lotions, creams, balms)

Nevada Medical Card Requirements

To qualify for a Nevada medical marijuana card you need to be over 18 and a legal resident of Nevada.

Individuals under 18 may still be eligible. But they’ll need to have a designated caregiver. Caregivers must be over 18.

In short, to be qualify for a Nevada MMJ card you must:

  • Be a legal resident of Nevada
  • Be over 18 years old or have a caregiver who is 21+
  • Have a valid state-issued ID
  • Submit a signed form from a licensed physician affirming that:
    • You have been diagnosed with a debilitating or chronic condition
    • The use of medicinal cannabis may alleviate the effects or symptoms of that condition
    • The attending health care provider has described the possible risks and benefits of medical marijuana
    • The attending physician will retain valid, written files and provide such documentation to the Division upon request

Acceptable Forms of ID

  • Valid Nevada state-issued identification card
  • Valid Nevada state-issued driver’s license

Acceptable Proof of Residency

  • Recent bank statement
  • Recent utility bill
  • Rental or mortgage agreement
  • Piece of mail from a state department
NV medical card

Nevada Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions List

To be eligible for a medical marijuana card, patients must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition, as determined by the state.

Here’s a list of the current qualifying conditions in Nevada:

  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
  • Addiction to or dependence on opioids
  • Anorexia nervosa
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Autism spectrum disorders
  • Autoimmune diseases
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Muscle spasms, including but not limited to multiple sclerosis
  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Nausea
  • Seizures, including epilepsy
  • Severe or chronic pain
  • A medical condition associated with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
  • A neuropathic condition, which may or may not cause seizures

How to Get a Medical Marijuana card in Nevada

In a rush to get your Nevada medical marijuana card?

First you’ll need to visit a board-certified physician licensed to practice in the state of Nevada.

The licensed physician will determine if you’re eligible for medical marijuana. If you’re deemed eligible, you can obtain an MMJ recommendation.

This visit can be done in person or online. Pro tip: online is much cheaper and more convenient!

Most well-established telehealth services even have money-back guarantees. So in case you’re not approved, you won’t owe a cent!

To get a medical cannabis card, follow this easy application process:

1. Consult With An NV Certified MMJ Doctor

You must make an appointment with a licensed physician via telehealth or in person.

During this visit, you’ll consult with a medical marijuana doctor. If they diagnose you with at least one of the qualifying medical conditions, you’ll get a recommendation form.

2. Create a DPBH Account

After obtaining a recommendation, you’ll need to apply for Nevada’s Medical Marijuana Program.

This is done by creating an account with the Department of Health and Human Services Nevada, Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH).

Download the Waiver and Acknowledgement Form from the DPBH website and send it to your licensed physician.

If you are using Leafwell or Veriheal just email the form directly to them. Your attending MMJ doctor will electronically sign it and return it online.

3. Complete NV State Application

Submit the medical marijuana registry application online. To complete the application, you’ll need a valid Nevada ID, a signed doctor’s recommendation form, and proof of residency.

You’ll also be required to pay the state application fee upon submission. It costs $50 for a 1 year MMJ card or $100 for 2 years.

Medical cannabis cards are valid for 1 or 2 years in NV.

4. Obtain Temporary Purchase Approval and Medical Card

If the DPBH approves your medical marijuana application, you’ll be able to get a temporary approval letter. With this document, you can shop at a licensed dispensary immediately.

Your physical Nevada medical marijuana card will be sent within 7-14 days.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada Online

If you’re looking to save some time and cash, see a licensed physician via telemedicine. Doing so will fulfill step 1 of the process above.

You can easily get a medical marijuana card recommendation online. It only takes minutes! And it’s valid for up to two years.

We recommend checking out Leafwell or Veriheal for your telehealth needs.

Get Your Nevada Medical Marijuana Card Online | Leafwell
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
  • Apply within 10 minutes!
  • Connect with a board certified physician
  • Your money back if you’re unsuccessful with your application
Our Rating:
5.0
LEARN MORE NOW

Both companies have a 100% money-back policy. So if you’re not approved, you’ll get your money back. Guaranteed.

If you are approved, a recommendation through Leafwell will cost $99. Veriheal is double the price at $199 for a recommendation.

Nevada Medical Marijuana Card Benefits

Though recreational cannabis is legal, qualifying medical cannabis patients have these exclusive advantages:

Lower Taxes to Pay

Patients with a medical marijuana card pay fewer taxes than recreational users. MMJ cardholders save 10% on tax. Rec users owe 14.6%, while medical patients owe 4.6%.

Higher Possession Limits

Medical marijuana cards allow for higher possession limits. Twice as much, in fact! MMJ patients are allowed to possess 2.5 oz of cannabis every 14 days. Recereational users are allowed 1 oz.

Higher Product Potencies

MMJ patients have access to products that are up to 10 x more potent. Medical cannabis products can have up to 1000 mg of THC. Adult-use products can only have up to 100 mg of THC.

Prioritized Access to MMJ

Patients have prioritized access in dispensaries. This ensures you always get your marijuana.

Can Consume Cannabis at 18

Having a MMJ card means you do not need to wait until you’re 21 to purchase or use cannabis.

Nevada MMJ Caregiver Information

If you’re unable to access medical marijuana on your own, you may designate a caregiver on your behalf.

You’ll just need to include your caregiver on your state registry application.

To qualify as a caregiver in Nevada, you must:

  • be 18 years of age or older
  • be a resident of Nevada
  • be responsible for handling the well-being of the patient
  • be designated as the primary caregiver at the time of application

Acceptable Forms of ID

  • Valid Nevada state-issued identification card
  • Valid Nevada state-issued driver’s license

Acceptable Proof of Residency

  • Recent bank statement
  • Recent utility bill
  • Rental or mortgage agreement
  • Piece of mail from a state department

How to Apply for a Caregiver Card in Nevada

Here’s the step-by-step process for obtaining a caregiver MMJ card:

1. Patient Must Designate the Primary Caregiver in Their Application

When applying for a medical marijuana card on the DPBH website, the patient must include the designated caregiver in their application. There isn’t a separate caregiver application.

Once a caregiver is designated, they may continue filling out the application on the patient’s behalf.

2. Obtain Attending Physician’s Signature

A MMJ doctor must sign a document approving of the designation of primary caregiver.

3. If Patient is Under 18, Submit a Signed Written Statement 

The caregiver must provide a written statement if the patient is a minor. The statement must affirm:  

(1) The attending healthcare provider of the minor is a physician licensed and has explained the potential risks and benefits of the medical use of cannabis

(2) The parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for the minor consents to the use of cannabis by the minor for medical purposes

(3) The parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for minor agrees to serve as their designated primary caregiver

(4) The parent or legal guardian with responsibility for health care decisions for the minor agrees to control the acquisition, dosage and frequency of use by the minor

4. Once Approved, the Division Will Issue You a Caregiver Registry ID Card

After the registry application is submitted, the Division should provide a copy of it to you. They may contact you to confirm that information included on application is accurate

Once approved, you’ll receive a caregiver card. Caregivers are allowed the same purchasing and grow limits as medical marijuana patients.

Can You Grow Medical Marijuana in Nevada?

Yes, but there are a few exceptions. Nevada law permits patients with a valid MMJ card to home cultivate if:

  • There were no dispensaries within 25 miles of your home when you first applied for a MMJ card
  • There are no dispensaries in the county your reside in
  • There are no dispensaries in the county you reside in that supply of the cannabis strain required for your health condition
  • You live more than 25 miles away from a dispensary
  • You are unable to get to a dispensary because of transportation issues or illness

If you meet the above requirements, you are allowed to grow up to 12 cannabis plants. This limit includes immature and mature plants.

Does Nevada Accept Out Of State Medical Cards?

Yes. NV has a medical marijuana reciprocity program. This means that they accept out-of-state medical cards.

Recreational marijuana is also legal in Nevada. Individuals 21+ can possess up to an ounce of marijuana or 3.5 grams of concentrate.

Wrapping Up Medical Card In Nevada

Overall, getting a NV medical marijuana card is easy!

Legal Nevada residents over 18 only need to meet all the eligibility requirements. From there, patients just need to complete a state application.

Get Your Nevada Medical Marijuana Card Online | Leafwell
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
  • Apply within 10 minutes!
  • Connect with a board certified physician
  • Your money back if you’re unsuccessful with your application
Our Rating:
5.0
LEARN MORE NOW

Minors with a qualifying caregiver can also obtain a medical cannabis card. They’ll just need to follow a few more procedures.

Despite recreational cannabis being legal, having an MMJ card can prove very beneficial!

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Qualifies for a Medical Marijuana Card in NV?

Residents over 18, and minors with a caregiver over 21, qualify for a MMJ card in Nevada. Individuals must have a qualifying medical condition and signed certificate from their licensed physician to apply for the Nevada MMJ Registry Program.

How Hard is it to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada?

It’s easy. Nevada residents that meet all the qualifications for MMJ should find the process to be simple. Once you gather all the required forms and documents, submit an application to the Division and pay the fee, approval should be swift.

How Much is it to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada?

The total cost depends on how much you pay for the doctor’s visit and how long the medical marijuana card is valid for. For example, if you use Leafwell, it will cost $99 for a 2-year certificate. 

Will I Need to Supply Medical Records When I Visit A MMJ Doctor?

Nope. You are not required to submit your medical records or medical history during your visit. However, doing so may make the process smoother. It can help expedite doctor approval.

Where Can I Consume or Use Cannabis in NV?

You can only consume cannabis on private property, even if you have a medical card. Using marijuana in public places, county jails, state prisons and detention facilities is prohibited.

Can I Smoke Marijuana in Nevada Casinos or on The Las Vegas Strip?

No. According to Nevada law, it is strictly prohibited to smoke cannabis in casinos or on the strip.

Can I Own A Firearm if I Have a Medical Card?

No. In the state of Nevada you may be prosecuted if you are in possession of a firearm while under the influence of marijuana.

Can I Use Cannabis When Driving?

No. Neither patients with a medical card nor rec users can operate a motor vehicle or boat while under the influence of marijuana. Anyone caught with cannabis in their system can get a DUI.