Are you thinking about getting a WV medical marijuana card?
It is a great idea since marijuana possession is still illegal for recreational use. Patients can legally possess up to a 30-day supply of cannabis.
If you are ready to find out if you qualify then keep reading. We outline the process below for you to get your WV medical card online.
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Program
The Medical Cannabis Act became law in 2017. It paved the way for medical cannabis in the Mountain State. But it was restrictive. For example, it did not allow the sale of cannabis flower.
West Virginia residents did not get full access to medical cannabis for four more long years. In 2019 House Bill 2538 finally established a financial system. It put in place banking regulations for cannabis dispensaries.
This was a big step towards opening dispensaries in the state.
Cannabis flower became a legal option in 2020 after Senate Bill 339 passed. And in 2021 dispensaries finally opened in the state for medical marijuana patients.
Now, patients with qualifying conditions can shop at 9 different state dispensaries.
The program has created more than 300 direct jobs in the state. As the program expands, patient care and opportunities for employment are also expected to expand.
West Virginia encourages economic development throughout the state. The Office of Medical Cannabis has approved over 7,000 patients to date.
Patients in the West Virginia medical marijuana program can buy a variety of products. They can have up to a 30-day supply of medication.
Although it is still unclear exactly what a 30-day supply is, that is because the physician will determine what a 30-day amount is and may specify the form as well.
The products available include:
- Topicals like gels, creams, and ointments
- Concentrates for vaping or nebulizing
- Dermal patches
Edibles are not for sale in West Virginia. Although some products like oils and tinctures can mix into food or drinks after purchase.
WV Medical Card Requirements
To qualify for your own West Virginia medical marijuana card you need to be a legal resident.
Patients must also be at least 18 years of age to apply on their own. Minors can also apply to the program, but they need the assistance of a caregiver.
A caregiver for a minor patient must be a parent or a legal guardian. They must attend the minor’s certification appointment. That is because caregivers must also receive certification from a physician.
Caregivers will fill out a separate application from the patient application. The caregiver application must be notarized.
And they will also need to include a digital photograph with their application. This is the photo that will be on their caregiver identification card.
Primary caregivers must be at least 21 years old. Adults that need assistance with things like purchasing medical cannabis or administering it can also apply with a caregiver.
West Virginia recognizes three types of caregivers:
- A parent or legal guardian of a minor patient
- Any individuals designated by a patient or legal guardian
- Appropriate individuals approved by the Bureau upon evidence that no legal guardian is available.
Caregivers must be present for the patient’s consultation with a medical marijuana doctor. This is whether the meeting is in person or through a telehealth call.
A patient can have up to two caregivers.
No one with a violent or drug-related felony within the last 5 years will be approved for the program. Or anyone with a criminal conviction within the last 10 years.
Caregivers must complete a criminal background check as a part of the application process.
All approved caregivers are registered with the state. But this information is not made public.
The last requirement to become a cannabis patient is to have a debilitating condition. The state has a list of qualifying conditions that are approved for treatment.
But ultimately, to be approved you can suffer from any condition that your physician believes qualifies you for medical marijuana.
Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions West Virginia
You can get a medical cannabis recommendation for any condition your doctor deems it to be a worthwhile treatment for.
The Medical Cannabis Act defines a serious medical condition as any of the following:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Huntington’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Intractable seizures
- Sickle cell anemia
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
- Terminal illness with a medical prognosis of life expectancy of approximately one year or less
You can request that additional medical conditions qualify for cannabis treatment via an application. You must fill out the entire application and submit it to the Office of Medical Cannabis for consideration.
Speak to your medical marijuana doctor before submitting your application. You will need to provide the contact information of a physician who supports your request. Without one your application will automatically be rejected.
How To Get Medical Marijuana Card In West Virginia
To get your medical marijuana card in West Virginia the first thing you need to do is see a board-certified physician. Make sure they are licensed to practice in West Virginia.
They will speak with you to determine if you are eligible to use medical marijuana. If you are, then they will provide you with a recommendation.
You can choose to meet with a physician online, or face-to-face.
Online is the most affordable option and the easiest option. The most well-established online platforms have 100% money-back guarantees. This takes the financial risk out of applying. If you don’t get approved for treatment your card doesn’t get charged.
It is as simple as that.
If you drive to a local doctor’s office and fail to get a recommendation they will not refund you any charges or fees.
And, the physicians who work with these platforms are uniquely qualified to make medical marijuana recommendations. They help many different types of patients and are well-versed in the therapeutic benefits medical cannabis has to offer. They will be able to help tailor a plan just for you that meets your needs.
Plus, they are already well aware of the specific laws in your state. They know all of the requirements you will need to meet. And your next steps.
When you meet with a physician online you won’t have to worry about asking your primary care doctor whether or not they make medical marijuana recommendations. And you don’t have to go to or search for different offices looking for someone certified to make recommendations, if not.
All you have to do is select your state from the drop-down menu when you create an account. Then, you will automatically get connected with an expert medical marijuana doctor in WV.
To get your medical cannabis card in West Virginia just follow the simple 2-step process below:
1. Certification From A WV Certified Healthcare Provider
Whether you choose to see a doctor in person or through a telehealth video call you need to meet with a board-certified physician. They will be the one to approve you for medical marijuana.
| || |
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
Get $10 off with code NATURE10
Your physician will look at your health history and speak with you about your current conditions. They may ask you questions regarding why you want to try medical marijuana and what you hope to get out of it.
You can provide your medical records to help them get a better picture of your overall health situation.
Then they will provide you with advice about whether or not they think medical marijuana is right for you.
2. Receive Your WV MMJ Certificate
If your physician agrees that you may benefit from medical marijuana treatment, then they will make a recommendation for you.
You will get a certificate as evidence. It will show that your physician recommends you become a cannabis patient under the state’s current laws. This certificate is required to apply for your medical cannabis card from the state.
You should receive a copy of your certification via email right after your telehealth call finishes.
3. Apply To The State
After your appointment with the physician, you have a couple more steps to receive your medical card. If you use a telehealth service like Leafwell or Veriheal, they will help guide you through the process.
If you don’t use one of these services you will need to be sure you complete the rest of the process correctly. Otherwise, you won’t be approved by the program.
You need to use the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Portal to register with the program and submit your application.
First, create an account. Once your account is created you will receive an email from Complia. This email will have a link to verify your account. Once you click the link and verify your account you can log in to Complia and start your application.
You will click to create a new application. You must input all of the required information for your application to be considered. There are multiple tabs with required data fields, questions responses, and document uploads. Double-check that you have filled in all areas.
Your patient information must be entered exactly as it is on the patient certification form. If there are any discrepancies between what you put on your application and what the physician listed on your certification form you will be denied. You will have to correct your application and reapply.
The items you need to successfully submit your state application include:
- Digital photo
- Photo ID like a copy of your driver’s license
- Proof of West Virginia residency
- A copy of your completed patient certification form provided by your physician
- Applicable fees (or proof of income if waiving fees)
Once you’re approved you can download a digital copy of your medical cannabis card from the state website.
The approval process usually takes 30-60 days. Your card is valid for one year. Then you need to renew it.
If you go through a telehealth service they will remind you when it is time to start the renewal process.
If you don’t use one of these services you should put a reminder in your calendar to renew your card at least 30 days before its expiration date. It can take 30-60 days for renewals to be processed. This is the best way to avoid a lapse in your medical marijuana patient status.
4. Shop For Medical Cannabis In WV
Once you download your digital cannabis card you can shop at licensed dispensaries. They are the only location you can legally purchase medical marijuana.
You can buy up to a 30-day supply which will be determined by your physician.
How To Get A WV Medical Marijuana Card Online
Getting a West Virginia medical marijuana card online is simple.
You need to choose which platform to use and create an account. Then, you provide some basic information and schedule your appointment. That’s really all it takes.
From the comfort of your couch, you can get a medical card recommendation in minutes. And it is valid for 1 year.
Both of them service West Virginia residents. And both of these platforms offer a risk-free money-back guarantee. This way you don’t have to stress about money if you are not approved.
Veriheal charges $199 for their service, but they offer discounts if you sign up with a friend or family member. And they also offer payment plans.
Leafwell also charges $199 to service patients in West Virginia. And they, too, offer discounts if you sign up with a friend.
All you have to do is create an account and pay the fees. To do this you will need to provide your full legal name, a phone number, and an email address.
Once you provide this info and pay the fee you will be able to schedule your appointment. Remember, your card will only be charged after you get a recommendation letter.
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Benefits
Getting a valid medical marijuana card in WV is the only way to legally enjoy and benefit from cannabis in West Virginia. Recreational marijuana is still currently illegal in the state. That means patients benefit by getting legal protections other state residents don’t have.
People with a valid MMJ card in the state can purchase and possess up to a 30-day supply of medical marijuana.
By shopping at medical dispensaries patients benefit from the fact the products they carry are potent and tested for safety.
Lastly, patients can benefit from medical marijuana reciprocity. This is a term used to describe states that recognize medical marijuana cards issued by other states.
If a WV patient travels to another state that has reciprocity then they may be able to legally purchase and consume medical cannabis while visiting.
Remember, it is federally illegal to transport marijuana across state lines. And just because another state might recognize the validity of an out-of-state medical card doesn’t mean they share the same rules.
Check to see what the local laws and guidelines are before traveling somewhere with your medication.
How hard is it to get a medical card in WV?
It’s easy for new prospective patients to get a medical marijuana card in West Virginia.
If they are 21 years of age or older, and have not been convicted of any felonies then they just need to see if a physician thinks they are fit for a recommendation.
If the physician believes MMJ will be beneficial for them they will receive a recommendation and can apply for the state card.
Can WV Medical Marijuana Patients Grow Weed?
No, it is not allowed for patients to grow their own marijuana in West Virginia.
Only state-licensed growers can cultivate cannabis legally. As a result, patients have to buy their products from one of the 9 state dispensaries.
Does WV Accept Out Of State MMJ Cards?
No, unfortunately, West Virginia does not have medical cannabis reciprocity. This means they do not recognize out-of-state medical cards.
However, terminally ill patients are allowed to travel for medical marijuana.
Other states may recognize a WV card, but it’s not guaranteed. Many states bar visiting patients from purchasing products from their dispensaries. This makes it almost impossible for patients to legally use their medication while in another state as it is federally illegal to transport medical marijuana across state lines.
Wrapping Up WV Medical Marijuanas Card
Even though the program is just getting started, there are some obvious benefits waiting for WV medical marijuana patients.
| || |
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
Get $10 off with code NATURE10
Without a medical cannabis card, it is illegal to consume marijuana in West Virginia. Getting your card is the best way to medicate and do it legally.
Sign up with Leafwell or Veriheal to see if you qualify.