How To Get A Delaware Medical Marijuana Card
Are you thinking about getting your Delaware medical marijuana card? It’s a great idea, and we can help you get it done.
We’ve gathered the most pertinent information you need to know to get your marijuana card without a headache.
Keep reading to learn how to easily get your Delaware medical marijuana card online.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Program
Medical marijuana in Delaware became legal in 2011.
The passage of the 2011 Senate Bill 17 made it possible. This bill, a.k.a. the Medical Marijuana Act, laid the foundation for a medical marijuana program in the state.
Growth for the program was slow. The DE division of Public Health drafted regulations for the program in 2012. But they were suspended.
The U.S. Attorney for Delaware threatened legal action against state employees if they moved forward with the program.
However, in August of 2013, Governor Markell lifted the suspension. Finally, the department finished drafting regulations. The state’s first dispensary, known as a compassion center, opened in 2014.
In 2015, the program grew with legislative updates. technical changes were applied and research studies were allowed in the state. Senate Bill 90 made pediatric access to cannabis extract oils with less than 7% THC possible.
In 2018 and 2019 more changes rolled in. New health conditions were added to the patient eligibility list. And cannabis criminal offense expungement legislation was laid.
Senate Bill 197 in 2018 approved mandatory expungement for some cannabis offenses. This included possession of cannabis in amounts of one ounce or less.
In April of 2020, Delaware started allowing home delivery to patients. And this is the first time the state started allowing telehealth visits. For the first time, prospective medical marijuana patients in Delaware had the option to meet with a physician in person or online.
Before there were strict rules that denied deliveries of medical marijuana. But this was a response to the Covid-19 pandemic. And compassionate care centers in the state made medication available for curbside pick-up.
Now as a Delaware medical marijuana patient you can buy 3 ounces of medical marijuana every 14 days. Patients can buy a total of 6 ounces per month.
A variety of products are available for sale, from raw flower to concentrates. However, access to cannabis is unavailable for those who aren’t patients.
Yes. Delaware has decriminalized the possession of cannabis for those caught with up to an ounce of it. But, you cannot buy it without a Delaware medical card legally.
Unfortunately, the state Governor, John Carney, vetoed a bill in early 2022 that sought to legalize cannabis for recreational use. The bill only asked for the legalization of up to one ounce of marijuana for personal use.
Delaware Medical Card Requirements
Legal Delaware residents can apply for the Delaware medical marijuana program. Proof of residency and proof of ID is necessary.
There are no legal age requirements for the program. However, you must be 18 years or older to complete the application without a caregiver.
Lastly, there is an application fee required to submit your application. You must pay the fee before your application is processed. Once it is processed you can receive your card.
Minors can apply to the program with the help of a designated caregiver.
Registered designated caregivers can purchase and manage medical marijuana for their patients.
These are the requirements for DE-designated caregivers:
- They must be 21 years old or older, or be the parent/guardian of a minor.
- Have no felony offense convictions
- Agree to assist with a patient medical marijuana treatment plan
- Serve no more than 5 qualifying patients at any given time
- Be a Delaware resident with a valid driver’s license or state ID
Those who meet the above requirements can apply to the program online.
To complete the caregiver application you need your patient’s 10-digit registry number.
Caregivers must complete the application in its entirety to be considered. You will need to pay a caregiver application fee of $50 when you submit the application.
This is a non-refundable fee. If patients or caregivers can prove a financial hardship they may be able to qualify for a reduced fee.
There is also a required background check that costs $65.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions List
There is a list of qualifying conditions approved by the state of Delaware. To qualify for medical marijuana treatment you must have one of the conditions on the list.
- Terminal Illness
- Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV Positive)
- Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Decompensated Cirrhosis
- ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Autism with aggressive or self-injurious behavior
- Intractable epilepsy or seizure disorder
- Chronic Debilitating Migraine or new daily persistent headache
- Anxiety (CBD Rich Card Only)
You may still qualify if you suffer from a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition not on the list. But to do so it or its treatment must produce one or more of the following;
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication
- Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to surgical measures for more than three months
- Severe debilitating pain which other treatment options produced serious side effects
- Intractable Nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms. Including but not limited to those characteristics of Multiple Sclerosis
Any Delaware resident can petition to add conditions or treatments to the list. They can do so by petitioning the department for consideration of an illness.
Follow the guidelines for petitioning the department to increase your chance of success.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Purchase Limits
Patients must purchase medical marijuana products directly from a licensed state dispensary. It must stay in its original container and label.
Patients can purchase up to three ounces of usable medical marijuana every 14 days. They are allowed a total of 6 ounces per month. Patients can choose to reach their 6-ounce monthly limit by purchasing multiple forms of medication.
There are a variety of different forms of medical cannabis available to choose from. They include:
- Raw flower
- And more
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card In Delaware
To get your medical marijuana card in Delaware, you need to see a board-certified physician. They must be licensed to practice in DE to make patient recommendations.
They will speak with you to see if you are eligible for MMJ treatment. If so, they will provide a medical marijuana certification.
The physician passes your recommendation on directly to the state. Your information will be updated so you can log in and submit your application. You need to complete your state application within 90 days from the date on which your recommendation letter was signed.
Getting your physician’s recommendation can be done in person or online.
However, online is generally much cheaper. And, the most well-established services have money-back guarantees. This means if you are not approved it costs you nothing.
Online telehealth services and the Delaware Department of Health both prioritize keeping your information safe. They use secure digital systems for optimal data protection.
The information you provide to the Delaware medical marijuana program is confidential. And the information received by the DE Department is subject to federal privacy laws.
Your records are exempt from the Freedom of Information Act. They are not subject to disclosure to anyone.
Your information will only be used by authorized employees of the program to perform official duties. This includes any information provided in an application, renewal, or any supporting documents.
Now that you know how easy it can be, get online and see if you qualify. Get your Delaware medical marijuana card following the 3 step process below:
1. Locate Your Medical Records
To speak with a medical marijuana doctor you need to provide proof of a qualifying condition.
This is not the case for most other states, which often don’t require patients to provide official records. But here in Delaware, you can’t even schedule your appointment until you provide medical records.
Photos of prescription bottles or prescription letters are not accepted as medical records. You need to request them from your health practitioner if you do not already have a copy to give. You will need to upload official records to the state website along with a copy of your state ID or driver’s license.
Then, you can schedule a time to meet with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
2. Consult With A Delaware Certified MMJ Doctor
After you have provided your medical records you can meet with your doctor.
Whether it is via telehealth or in person, they will speak with you about medical marijuana. They will go over your medical records, ask you questions, and provide you with guidance. Most likely you will spend some time discussing treatment options for yourself.
If approved, the physician will let you know by the end of your video chat. They will send your details to the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission.
| || |
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
Get $10 off with code NATURE10
This is why you need to upload your records to the program beforehand. With your patient number already in hand, your physician will be able to update your information with the program.
The state will verify your information with your physician.
You will receive an email with further instructions. It will guide you on how to finish registering with the state and completing your application.
3. Register With DE State For MMJ
When you register with the state online system there is a $50 state application fee. This fee is non-refundable.
Once you are approved, it usually takes about two weeks to receive your card in the mail. But it can take longer.
You can only shop at a DE dispensary once you receive your medical card.
A medical card is valid for 1 year in DE. You will need to renew your card every year to continue shopping at dispensaries.
You can begin the renewal process up to 90 days before your card’s expiration date. It is recommended you start the process as soon as possible to continue using your card without interruptions.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card In Delaware Online
Becoming a Delaware medical marijuana patient can be done entirely online.
Instead of seeing an offline physician, you consult with one online when completing step one of the process above.
Completing your physician consultation online can save you time and money.
Seeing a doctor in person involves scheduling an appointment. Traveling to an office. And paying high fees for the same recommendation you can get from a doctor online.
Meeting with a doctor virtually can be as fast as fifteen minutes. And if you get a recommendation, it is valid for an entire year.
To get connected with an online physician licensed to make recommendations in Delaware we recommend checking out Leafwell or Veriheal.
- Online Medical Marijuana Card | Leafwell
- Apply within 10 minutes!
- Connect with a board certified physician
- Your money back if you’re unsuccessful with your application
- Apply For Your MMJ Card Online Today | Veriheal
- Seamlessly connect with a physician via Veriheal telehealth
- One simple fee
- Approved for MMJ or your money back!
They are two of the most well-established medical marijuana telehealth services around. And they both have simple money-back policies in place if not approved. That way you can see if you qualify without having to stress over finances.
The fees for a consultation for both Leafwell and Veriheal are $199.
But don’t forget, you only pay this if approved. If you don’t get a recommendation your card won’t be charged.
Their schedules are also more flexible and easier to schedule on your own time.
To sign up with either of these platforms you must provide some general information. Provide your name, email, and phone number to create an account.
Then, you will need to upload your medical records. After this is done you can schedule an appointment to meet with a physician.
Their physicians deal with medical marijuana regularly and are experts in the field. They can help you determine an appropriate treatment plan to start off with.
If you get a recommendation, your physician will send it to the state department. They will verify the information and send you an email with directions for follow-up. The email will tell you how to finish the state application.
You can do this using the state’s website or you can print a paper application. If you use a paper application it must be mailed to the department. They will not accept faxed or emailed copies. You will need to include your application fee in a check or money order.
When you get your card, it remains valid for one year. You will need to see a licensed physician again to get recertified.
If you use Veriheal they will contact you when it is time to set up a renewal consultation.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Card Benefits
There are a number of benefits for cardholders in Delaware.
First, it is the only way to legally consume marijuana in the state. Recreational marijuana use is still illegal.
Possession of small amounts of marijuana is decriminalized. Adults can have up to one ounce without facing any criminal penalties.
But medical patients can legally carry up to 6 oz and still benefit from state legal protection.
Qualifying patients and caregivers have state-level protections from discrimination. This includes discrimination in the following areas:
- Parental rights
- Medical care
Not only are patients allowed to enjoy their medication. But they also gain access to third-party tested products.
These products are medical grade with labels that clearly indicate their potency and safety. This is a huge benefit to having a medical card.
Purchasing marijuana outside of dispensaries comes with risks. Including the a higher potential for products to be contaminated and unsafe. Third-party tested products bought from dispensaries are pre checked for things like chemicals, heavy metals, residues, and microbes that can make you sick.
The only way to ensure that you get safe and potent products is to purchase ones that provide evidence of their quality. Third-party tested products come with a lab report that verifies their results. If they don’t pass state regulations they don’t make it to dispensary shelves.
Keep in mind that you can’t use medical marijuana anywhere in Delaware just because you have a valid MMJ card. Marijuana use is not permitted on a school bus. It is also forbidden in any preschool, primary, or secondary school. In addition to correctional facilities including health care treatment facilities.
It is also against state laws to use medical marijuana on any form of public transportation, or in any public space.
Can Medical Patients Grow Marijuana Plants In Delaware?
No, the state of Delaware does not allow anyone to grow their own medical marijuana plants.
Even if you have a valid medical card. Patients must purchase all of their medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary.
Does Delaware Accept Out Of State Medical Cards?
No, Delaware does not accept out-of-state medical cards as it does not recognize other cards via medical card reciprocity.
Wrapping Up Medical Card In Delaware
As you can see, getting a Delaware medical marijuana card online is an easy process!
Get your medical documentation sent to a licensed medical marijuana doctor. Then, get your recommendation, and apply to the state.
| || |
10% OFF COUPON: NATUREANDBLOOM
Get $10 off with code NATURE10
Only time will tell when this state will finally legalize recreational cannabis. Don’t wait when you can become a medical marijuana patient now.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use my Delaware medical marijuana card in Maryland?
No, you cannot use a Delaware medical marijuana card in Maryland. There are some states that have medical marijuana reciprocity.
That means these states recognize medical marijuana cards issued by other states. However, Maryland is not one of them.
The states that allow this include:
To qualify as a visiting patient you need to meet the requirements specific to the state you are visiting.
For example, some states only recognize medical marijuana cards issued for qualifying conditions they recognize. And some of these states may require things like a visiting application form.
You may need to apply prior to your travel dates to get approval in time to use your medication while traveling. You may need to pay some visiting patient fees, too.
Although many states honor valid medical marijuana cards issued by other states, some don’t allow visiting patients to make purchases from their dispensaries.
It is important to familiarize yourself with the rules of the state you plan to visit. Do this prior to your trip so that you are following regulations and protected by the program.
Does Delaware Medicaid cover medical marijuana?
Marijuana is still considered an illegal substance by the federal government. Because of this insurance companies will not pay for medication costs or consultation appointments.
Patients must cover the cost of medical marijuana treatment on their own.